Cranbrook Chamber Swears in New Board of Directors

The Cranbrook Chamber of Commerce has a new Board of Directors effective April 01. 11 Chamber members sworn in by Mayor Lee Pratt at the annual general meeting March 30 will form the newly minted board chaired by Chris Thom.

The previous board served an extended 15 month term to accommodate changes to the Chamber bylaws to separate the fiscal year and the governance year. The new bylaws facilitating this change, and the reduction of the board from 15 to 11 members, were passed by the membership last September.

After the gavel passing ceremony from outgoing president Dave Struthers incoming president Chris Thom commented, “I am really looking forward to a great year. We have an excellent board and great staff. The Chamber will continue to work diligently to build business and community.”

The following will form the board of directors for 2016/17.

President – One Year Term
Chris Thom – Rocky Mountain Diesel

Vice President – One Year Term
Chris Botterill – Genex Marketing

Past President – One Year Term
Dave Struthers – Vast Resources

Treasurer – One Year Term
Mike Adams – Taylor Adams Chartered Accountants

Director – One Year Term
Jason Fast – East Kootenay Credit Union
Heather Jackson – College of the Rockies
Ryan Gibbard – McElhanney Consulting Services Ltd.
Carrie Schafer – eKnow – East Kootenay News Online

Director – Two Year Term
Bill Hughes – Investors Group
Galen Olstead – Key City Theatre
Racheal Lucas – Columbia Basin Trust
Zena Williams – Kootenay News Advertiser